AP Logo

 Associated Press Logo

Morehead State Public Radio (MSPR) staff and students took home a total of 16 awards in the 2020 Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters (KAPB) competition. The awards recognize the best in television and radio journalism for the calendar year of 2019.

The awards were announced for both professional and college entries.

The KAPB awards competition is designed to recognize Kentucky AP members and staffers for outstanding performance in broadcast journalism. The competition is open to all AP members in Kentucky and outside Kentucky with designated market areas that extend into Kentucky. To be eligible to enter, entries must be about news, features or sports that occurred solely in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in calendar year 2019.

The KAPB college competition is designed to recognize Kentucky student broadcasters for outstanding performance in college broadcast journalism. The contest is open to any college in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in calendar year 2019.

Also announced were the recipients of the 2020 Tom Peterson Memorial Scholarship. Established by Mr. Peterson's family to honor Tom's life and work, the scholarship provides $1000 to a deserving Kentucky college student pursuing a career in communications and/or journalism. This year’s scholarship recipients are Olivia Eiler of Western Kentucky University and Makayla Holder of Morehead State University.

The AP is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY, 90.3FM) earned a total of 15 awards in the professional and college divisions including six first place finishes.

“WMKY is so proud of the student and professional work we do in the newsroom each day.  Our recent focus has been the local impact of the global pandemic, which has limited the work our students are able to complete. It is refreshing to be able to celebrate the news team and the work they put in during 2019.  As always, we will continue to do our best to bring award-winning news coverage to the region.” said Leeann Akers, MSPR News Director. 

Radio College Division:

1st Place – Best Newscast, Kenzie Thompson and Nacogdoches Miller ("Mountain Edition News")

1st Place – Best Radio Reporter, Nacogdoches Miller

1st Place – Best Feature Story, Licia Henneberg, ("MSU Summer Camp")

1st Place – Best Sports Coverage, Ty Martin ("Mountain Edition Sports")

2nd Place – Best News Story, Kennealy Roberts ("Active Shooter Drills")

2nd Place – Best Radio Reporter, Kennealy Roberts

2nd Place – Best Sports Coverage, Nacogdoches Miller ("MSU Cheer Squads to Compete at Nationals")

3rd Place – Best Public Affairs, Logan Pemberton ("Public Pension Working Group")

3rd Place – Best Sports Coverage, Sha'Maurie Mosley ("Mountain Edition Sports")

3rd Place – Best News Story, Nacogdoches Miller ("Department for Public Health Investigates Vaccination Associated Infections")

Radio Professional Division:

1st Place – Best Long Newscast, Leeann Akers and Chas Jenkins ("Mountain Edition News")

1st Place – Best Sports Reporting, Tanner Boyd ("WMKY Sports")

3rd Place – Best Long Public Affairs, Leeann Akers ("This is My Heart for You")

3rd Place – Best Short Newscast, Tanner Boyd ("WMKY News")

3rd Place – Best Sports Reporting, Leeann Akers ("Mountain Edition Sports")

2020 Tom Peterson Memorial Scholarship 

Makayla Holder of Morehead State University

Serving more than 20 counties throughout eastern Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia, Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY) broadcasts at 90.3FM from the MSU campus.